Steering Committee

C2UExpo would not be possible without the dedication and commitment of the following C2UExpo Steering Committee members who provided vision and strategic leadership in the development and planning of the conference. Lakehead University’s Office of Research Services, thanks you for your enthusiasm and support!

Steering Committee Composition

Lakehead University Representatives:

  • Sheena Allard, C2UExpo Coordinator, Research Services
  • Denise Baxter, Assoc. Vice-Provost, Indigenous Initiatives
  • Dr. Ruth Beatty, Faculty of Education
  • Dr. Michel Beaulieu, Associate Vice-Provost Academic (Special Projects)
  • Dr. Jocelyn Bel, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Research Facilitator, Research Services
  • Anna Chief, Indigenous Outreach and Recruitment Coordinator
  • Dr. Andrew P. Dean, Vice-President (Research and Innovation) - Co-Chair
  • Dr. Lindsay Galway, Department of Health Sciences
  • Dr. Ravi Gokani, Department of Social Work
  • Dr. Michael den Haan, Vice-President External Relations
  • Dr. Rebecca Heffernan, Orillia Research and Strategic Initiatives Facilitator, Research Services
  • Anne Klymenko, Director, Research Services - Co-Chair
  • Dr. Kathy Kortes-Miller, Director, Centre for Education and Research on Aging and Health (CERAH)
  • Dr. Charles Levkoe, Department of Health Sciences
  • Dr. Benjamin Maiangwa, Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Dr. Roopa Rakshit, SSHRC Research and Knowledge Mobilization Facilitator, Research Services
  • Dr. Lana Ray, Department of Indigenous Studies
  • Dr. Pauline Sameshima, Faculty of Education
  • Dr. Kathy Sanderson, Faculty of Business Administration
  • Dr. Batia Stolar, SSHRC Leader, Department of English

Community Partner Representatives:

  • Albert Brulé, CEO, United Way
  • Dr. Erin Cameron, NOSM University
  • Lee-Ann Chevrette, Community Safety and Well-Being Specialist, City of Thunder Bay
  • John DeGiacomo, Executive Director, Anishinabek Employment and Training Services
  • Audrey Gilbeau, Executive Director, Nokiiwin Tribal Council
  • Ingrid Green, Director of Research and Evaluation, Ontario Native Women’s Association
  • Karen Kerk, Past Coordinator, Thunder Bay Food Strategy
  • Bonnie Krysowaty, Coordinator, Poverty Reduction Strategy and Researcher/Program Manager, Lakehead Social Planning Council
  • Dr. Timothy Larocque, Director, Applied Research and Innovation, Confederation College
  • Aaron Park, Housing Programs, District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board
  • Summer Stevens, Earthcare, City of Thunder Bay
  • Dr. PhebeAnn Wolframe-Smith, Equity Coach, Northwest Region, CAMH

Conferencing Planning/Marketing Support:

  • Emily Shandruk and Chelsey Lokstett (Emily Shandruk Solutions)
  • Brook Dallaire (Sociable)